Why I Fear Swimming

I am 50 years old and have yet to learn how to swim. I have literally traveled the world and had many opportunities to learn, but fear caused me to make up other lame excuses as to why not.

Now that I have allowed God deep into my heart to set me free from fears, hurt, and vicious cycles in my life, the desire to take on the water is suddenly on my bucket list. And its not just any body of water…..but the water I get to behold with my eyes when I traveled abroad. They are so beautiful and inviting.

Presently I am in Belize on a far away island that I can only get off by at 2 hour boat ride or 45min shaky propeller plane ride. The plane really shook me up yesterday, not in a fearful way, but inside my body. The organs were not to happy.

20140629-112930-41370991.jpg

The plane above took me to that spot of land in the ocean below……lol.

20140629-113107-41467190.jpg

Back to the fear of swimming and water………as I stood at the edge of the beautiful beach ocean today staring into the water for a long time; watching little kids, ages 4-10 freely jump in, swimming and playing……I asked Father what was wrong with me. And He said…..

You fear losing control and man CANNOT tame nor control My Waters. Psalm 89:9 came to me You rule the raging of the sea. When its waves rise, You still them. WOW! Our God is great!

In order for me to learn to swim, I must surrender all control to the ONE who created the water and still controls the water. It is through Him and in Him that I will swim like a fish and even walk on water if I believe.

20140629-113814-41894988.jpg

20140629-113814-41894227.jpg

The water intimidates me, but He holds me and gives me so much peace. He calms the storm within. Before I leave this place I shall swim, snorkel and scuba dive……will keep you informed.

Thank you for taking the time to read my blog, pray for me and encourage me.

Akinyi Nafula Eseosa

One thought on “Why I Fear Swimming”

  1. wow…. this is beautiful I’m excited for you. there is so much to see when the routine of life stops and we take time to marvel at the beauty of God’s creation.we see another side of God,The greatest artist of all time. I don’t even think Picasso could have painted that water as beautiful as God created it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

