A Surface Reality

These words have been in my spirit for three months now and I finally decided to entertain them as I lay in bed with a migraine headache. The words “A Surface Reality”……..As a woman of God, lover of Jesus and full of His Holy Spirit, when I hear words or sense things in my heart, I know that my Heavenly Father wants to talk to me. Its just a matter of being still long enough and opening up my heart to listen and receive.

Sometimes I have the most difficult time just being still. I live in a world and environment where its constant movement and everyone going “no where” fast.

The Word of God says that “life is a vapor”, what if I really believe this word. What if I wake up with this word at the forefront of my mind each day; what if I intentionally pursued a deeper relationship and encounter with my Creator, the LORD of my life.

Living a “surface reality” is easy because we don’t have to do any inner self examination or seek the truth about who we really are. We can wear various masks depending on who we are interacting with at the time.

A surface reality is a “false truth”.

IMG_1667.JPG

Since I began this wonderful journey I have been through many trying times, but the trying times forced me to remove the many masks I have worn over the years in order to survive.

God in His mercy introduced me to the world of art 2.5 years ago and my life has not been the same.

The piece above is called “Taking Off The Mask” and it is one of my favorite pieces because it was created out of a desperate place of wanting to live life from a deeper place of reality and no longer on the surface.

And the only way to do that is to be completely, brutally honest with myself. it has not been a pretty picture but it has been liberating .

Thank you for reading this and brace yourself for more to come. I am so excited about this New Year 5775 and all the open doors our God has opened and no man can close!

Shalom,
Akinyi Nafula Eesosa Rain

Leave a Reply

