THE FIGHT WITHIN

That which I do I want to do.
That which I crave is what I absolutely hate.

For I know that within me, in my flesh, nothing good dwells.
The good that I do, I sense I do not do it in its fullness.
Unto death is what I desire, but the unseen clutches that pull at my flesh block me.

There is a fight within me; a very real tug-of-war…..between my spirit and flesh.
My body stands between the two, refereeing as if it does not know that its fate lies within the mix.

There is a fight within my members, tussling against the law of my mind and the love of my heart.

Do I dare touch a thing of this world and not be contaminated?
Enticing, yet a murderer.
Pleasant to the eyes, yet suffocating.
Seducing, yet poisonous.
Permissible but NOT beneficial.

The comforts of my life in America or simplicity of my joyous life in Africa.
The abundance of materialism all around me in USA or total dependence on the provision of my Jehovah Jireh in Kenya.

Pure and undefiled religion before GOD and The Father is this: to visit orphans and widows in their trouble, and to keep oneself unspotted from the world (James 1:27).

The fight within continues and by His grace my flesh will soon die so that His Spirit will live fully within me.

LivingTheVapor

Leave a Reply

