My Beloved Mother Has Died

image image

I have been awake most of the night with thoughts of my 51 years with my Mother. I love the fact that she was a stay-at-home Mom of 6 kids, while Dad worked as a Merchaht Seaman. She wanted to take care of us full time and give us a running start at life by teaching us discipline, integrity, accountability, endurance, commitment and love.

Most assuredly, I say to you, unless a grain of wheat falls into the ground and dies, it remains alone; but if it dies, it produces much grain….John 12:24

This is the opportune time to produce much fruit as a result of my Mom teaching and living much fruit in our midst. I am a full time missionary to Africa because my Mom not only taught us to reach out beyond ourselves and to help those in severe need, but she lived it before us. There was no person in need within our community that she did not help if she found out they were in need.

She did not accept Christ until I was 13 years old, yet God graced her prior to salvation to love others and expect nothing in return because the poorest of the poor have nothing to give anyway.

She raised us to go to school, focus, obey authority and finish what you start. It was a given that we would all finish high school and leave home immediately thereafter and start our adult life. All six of us finished high school and started life and not one of us ever saw a jail cell or the other issues that so many families had to deal with. My Mom did not spare the rod —- amen!  She loved hard and loud.

She cooked everyday…..breakfast, lunch and dinner. Sunday meals were always special and delicious. She cleaned and washed clothes several times a week, allowing us time to focus on school. On Saturdays, we had to rise early and do the cleaning but she was right there with us, teaching us to do it correctly and thoroughly. THANK YOU MOM!

Her consistency and persistence raised six kids with impeccable work ethics; not one of us have remained on a job less than 10 years. Either we have retired or the three who still work have over 25 years of service to same company. Thank you Mom and Dad!

I am so honored and humbled to have carried on what I learned from my Mom and applied it in the raising of my son, Ian “Joshua” Walker. He is a man after God’s own heart and God blessed him with a Proverbs 31 woman and amazing daughter.

The legacy will move forward for generations to come, with an increasing flame for Jesus and a global mandate.

Celebrate with us as we prepare to committ my Mother’s body to the ground this week. Her spirit is with Jesus and rejoicing forevermore.

Sherry “EseosaRain”

Leave a Reply

